We’ve Come Down With Shingles

This past weekend brought some great weather and with that many unnecessary trips to the house. 3 times in one day is not overkill, right? I suppose we convinced ourselves that it was going to be cold and rainy all day Sunday, therefore necessitating multiple trips on Saturday, makes total sense. With nearly eight workers on our roof laying shingles, we decided to return later. A few hours later we return, braving the odd looks from the neighbors (read: that we’ve now met in the most random of circumstances, more on that later) we broke out the camera and tripod for our now quite familiar tour around the home.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ooh, a gallery, fancy stuff here these days, ladies and gentlemen. Please contain your excitement as I introduce the second gallery of this post. We like to spoil you, dear reader. On that note, we’d like to familiarize you with the inside of the home. We’ve been a bit shy of this up until now as the house is not quite as photogenic inside as out. We’d prefer to show you the inside as we decorate and make it home, however, we can deny you no longer. Please bear with us as we venture inside, for the first time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As the drywall and finishes start to take shape we predict that the interior will begin to outshine its exterior counterpart, in its own way of course. I suppose now that we’ve finally introduced you to our secret (not really, see that floor plan link above?) interior, we’ll be less shy in the future to show it off.

Now, about those neighbors that I referenced earlier. One night last week we did our regular stop at the home a bit later than normal. After getting out of the car I couldn’t shake the smell of burning wood. My thought process went from, “Smoking meat this late? That’s dedication.” to “Oh, sweet sassy molassey, my home is entirely framed wood, it’s on fire!” in a matter of seconds. Upon further inspection the crew had left their burn pile smoldering in the back yard. I use the term smoldering lightly, as the wind was certainly keeping this blaze alive and doing its best at reenacting a Michael Bay film scene. My wife will tell you that I was over-reacting, the former Boy Scout in me says otherwise.

We decided (she indulged me) that we should introduce ourselves to our neighbors while subsequently asking for a bucket of water. First home on our fire tour: I was able to get the start of, “I’m really sorry to bother you,” before the door was hastily shut in my face by a teenage girl. Nice to meet you, house #1. The second home was far more accommodating, (albeit dismissive, much to my wife’s delight) of our predicament. I don’t want to brag, but I’m sure there are a number of worms and other dirt dwelling creatures that consider me a hero. The fire, as well as my anxiety, extinguished. I imagine there are worse ways to meet your neighbors.

Leave a Reply

